Micro, Small and Medium Enterprise Development (MSMED) Council

The Micro, Small and Medium Enterprise Development (MSMED) Council is tasked to effectively spur the growth and development of MSMEs throughout the country, and to carry out the policy declared in Republic Act No. 6977, as amended (also known as the “Magna Carta for Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises (MSMEs)“. The Council is attached to the Department of Trade and Industry (DTI).

[See also: Micro, Small and Medium Enterprises: What Businesses are Considered MSMEs]

The Council is the primary agency responsible for the promotion, growth and development of small and medium enterprises in the country by way of facilitating and closely coordinating national efforts to promote the viability and growth of small and medium enterprises, including assisting relevant agencies in the tapping of local and foreign funds for small and medium enterprise development, as well as promoting the use of existing programs, as well as seeking ways to maximize the use of our labor resources.


The Council shall be headed by the DTI Secretary as Chairman, and may elect from among themselves a Vice-chairman to preside over the Council meetings in the absence of the Chairman. The members shall be the following:

  • a) Secretary of Agriculture.
  • b) Secretary of the Interior and Local Government;
  • c) Secretary of Science and Technology; [removed under R.A. 10644]
  • d) Secretary of Tourism; [removed under R.A. 10644]
  • c) Chairman of Small Business Corporation.
  • d) Three (3) representatives from the MSME sector to represent Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao.
  • e)  One (1) representative from the women sector designated by the Philippine Commission on Women. [added under R.A. 10644]
  • f) One (1) representative from the youth sector designated by the National Youth Commission. [added under R.A. 10644]
  • g) One representative from the labor sector, to be nominated by accredited labor groups; and [removed under R.A. 10644]
  • h) A representative from the private banking sector: to serve alternately among the Chamber of Thrift Banks; the Rural Bankers’ Association of the Philippines (RBAP); and the Bankers’ Association of the Philippines (BAP). [removed under R.A. 10644]

All members of the Council so appointed, except for the ex officio members, shall serve for a term of three (3) years. The person so appointed to replace a member who has resigned, died, or been removed for cause shall serve only for the unexpired portion of the term.

The Council may call upon the participation of any national or local government agency, association of local government officials or private sector organization in its deliberations especially when such agency or private sector organization is directly or indirectly concerned with and/or affecting the growth and development of MSMEs in any particular area or manner.

P&L Law

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.