GCQ and MECQ: Community Quarantine Classifications Beginning 16 May 2020

The classification of provinces, highly urbanized cities (HUCs) and independent component cities (ICCs), beginning 16 May 2020, has been released through Resolution No. 35 dated 11 May 2020 of the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF). [Note: See updated list, as of 1-15 June 2020] The classifications are as follows:


The following provinces, HUCs and ICCs shall no longer be under community quarantine be placed under General Community Quarantine (per IATF Resolution No. 35-A, which amended the earlier declaration under Resolution No. 35 that community quarantine in low-risk areas is lifted), without prejudice to strict observation of minimum health standards (see Guidelines on interzonal movement):

Region I1. Ilocos Norte
2. Ilocos Sur
3. La Union
4. Pangasinan
5. Dagupan City
Region IV-B1. Marinduque
2. Occidental Mindoro
3. Oriental Mindoro
4. Romblon
5. Palawan
6. Puerto Princesa
Region V1. Albay
2. Camarines Norte
3. Camarines Sur
4. Catanduanes
5. Masbate
6. Sorsogon
7. Legazpi City
8. Naga City
Region VI1. Aklan
2. Antique
3. Capiz
4. Guimaras
5. Iloilo
6. Negros Occidental
7. Iloilo City
8. Bacolod City
Region VIII1. Biliran
2. Easter Samar
3. Leyte
4. Norther Samar
5. Western Samar
6. Southern Leyte
7. Ormoc City
8. Tacloban City
Region X1. Bukidnon
2. Camiguin
3. Lanao del Norte
4. Misamis Occidental
5. Misamis Oriental 
6. Cagayan de Oro City
Region XII1. North Cotabato
2. South Cotabato
3. Sarangani
4. Sultan Kudarat
5. General Santos City
6. BARM (Basilan, Lanao del Sur,
Maguindanao, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi,
Cotabato City)


The following moderate-risk provinces, HUCs and ICCs shall be placed under General Community Quarantine (GCQ) until 31 May 2020 (see GCQ Guidelines), without prejudice to the declaration of localized Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) in critical areas:

CAR1. Abra
2. Apayao
3. Benguet
4. Ifugao
5. Kalinga
6. Mountain Province
7. Baguio City
Region II1. Batanes
2. Cagayan
3. Isabela
4. Nueva Vizcaya
5. Quirino
6. Santiago City
Region III1. Aurora
2. Bataan
3. Bulacan
4. Nueva Ecija
5. Pampanga
6. Tarlac
7. Zambales
8. Angeles City
9. Olongapo City
Region IV-A1. Cavite
2. Quezon
3. Rizal
4. Batangas
5. Lucena City
Region VII1. Bohol
2. Cebu
3. Negros Occidental
4. Siquijor
5. Mandaue City
6. Lapu-Lapu City
Region IX1. Zamboanga del Norte
2. Zamboanga del Sur
3. Zamboanga Sibugay
4. Zamboanga City
5. Isabela City
Region XI1. Davao City
2. Davao de Oro
3. Davao del Norte
4. Davao del Sur
5. Davao Occidental
6. Davao Oriental
Region XIII
1. Agusan del Norte 
2. Agusan del Sur
3. Dinagat Islands
4. Surigao del Norte
5. Surigao del Sur
6. Butuan City


The following high-risk provinces, HUCs and ICCs shall be placed under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) until 31 May 2020, without prejudice to the declaration of localized ECQ in critical areas:

LUZON1. Laguna
2. NCR
3. Pateros
VISAYAS1. Cebu City

For areas placed under MECQ, the recommendations of the National Task Force against COVID-19 are hereby adopted in relation to the proposed zoning concept and corresponding qualification and its phased response or intervention. Pursuant thereto, city/municipal LGUs shall be allowed to declare the classification of barangays based on risk thresholds to be confirmed by the Regional Interagency Task Force (RIATF) per EO 112 (s. 2020).

Provinces, HUCs and ICCs characterized as low, moderate and high-risk may appeal their classification to the IATF Screening and Validation Committee with the concurrence of the RIATF not later than 13 May 2020. [See Establishments allowed to operate during ECQ]

P&L Law

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.