National Flag Days in the Philippines

Today, 28 May 2020, is a National Flag Day. Tomorrow, 28 May 2020, is still a National Flag Day. In fact, the National Flag Days are celebrated from May 28 until June 12 every year. It may come as a surprise that this is required by law, the “Flag and Heraldic Code of the Philippines” (Republic Act No. 8491). Here are other legal provisions which you might not know. 


Colors: The blue color shall bear Cable No. 80173; the white color, Cable No. 80001; the red color, Cable No. 80108; and the golden yellow, Cable No. 80068. Proportions: The width of the flag, 1; the length of the flag, 2; and the sides of the white triangle, 1.


The flag shall be permanently hoisted, day and night (properly illuminated at night), throughout the year, in front of the following: 

  • 1. Malacañang Palace
  • 2. Congress of the Philippines building
  • 3. Supreme Court building
  • 4. Rizal Monument in Luneta, Manila
  • 5. Aguinaldo Shrine in Kawit, Cavite
  • 6. Barasoain Shrine in Malolos, Bulacan
  • 7. Tomb of the Unknown Soldier, Libingan ng mga Bayani
  • 8. Musoleo de los Beteranos dela Revolucion
  • 9. All International Ports of Entry 
  • 10. All other places as may be designated by the National Historical Institute (NHI)


The flag shall be displayed every day through the year in the following:

  • 1. All public buildings
  • 2. Official residences (Malacañang and other government-owned structures where the President resides, and other structures occupied by the Philippine Consulate or Embassies abroad)
  • 3. Public plazas
  • 4. Institutions of learning 


The flag shall also be displayed in private buildings and residences or raised in the open on flag-staffs in front of said buildings every:

  • April 9 (Araw ng Kagitingan)
  • May 1 (Labor Day)
  • May 28 (National Flag Day) to June 12 (Independence Day)
  • Last Sunday of August (National Heroes Day)
  • November 30 (Bonifacio Day);
  • December 30 (Rizal Day)
  • Such other days as may be declared by the President and/or local chief executives


Any person which violates any of the provisions of the Flag and Heraldic Code of the Philippines shall be punished by imprisonment for not more than one (1) year, or a fine, or both fine and imprisonment, at the discretion of the court. So, yes, there is imprisonment for those who do not hoist the flag on certain days, as well as those who violate the following provisions.


When the Philippine flag is flown with another flag, the flags, if both are national flags, must be flown on separate staffs of the same height and shall be of equal size. The Philippine flag shall be hoisted first and lowered last.

If the other flag is not a national flag, it may be flown in the same lineyard as the Philippine flag but below the latter and it cannot be of greater size than the Philippine flag.


When displayed with another flag, the Philippine flag shall be on the right of the other flag. If there is a line of other flags, the Philippine flag shall be in the middle of the line.

When carried in a parade with flags which are not national flags, the Philippine flag shall be in frontof the center of the line.


A flag worn out through wear and tear, shall not be thrown away. It shall be solemnly burned to avoid misuse or desecration. The flag shall be replaced immediately when it begins to show signs of wear and tear.


The flag shall have its blue field on top in time of peace and the red field on top in time of war. The flagpole staff must be straight and slightly tapering at the top. The flag shall not be raised when the weather is inclement. If already raised, the flag shall not be lowered.

The flag shall be raised at sunrise and lowered at sunset. It shall be on the mast at the start of official office hours, shall remain flying throughout the day.


If hanging, the blue field of the flag shall be to the right (left of the observer) in time of peace, and the red field to the right (left of the observer) in time of war. 

If flat against the wall vertically with the sun and stars on top.

If hanging in a vertical position across a street, with the blue field pointing east, if the road is heading south or north, or pointing north if the road is heading east or west.

If attached to a building, the flagpole shall be on top of its roof or anchored on a sill projecting at an angle upward.

If on a stage or platform or government office, the flag shall be at the left (facing the stage) or the left of the office upon entering.

If the flag is displayed indoors on a flagpole, it shall be placed at the left of the observer as one enters the room;


The flag shall be flown at half-mast as a sign of mourning on all the buildings and places where it is displayed on the day of official announcement of the death of any of the following officials:

  • 1. The President or a former President, for ten (10) days
  • 2. The Vice-President, for seven (7) days
  • 3. The Chief Justice, for seven (7) days
  • 4. The President of the Senate, for seven (7) days
  • 5. The Speaker of the House of Representatives, for seven (7) days
  • 6. Other persons to be determined by the NHI, for any period less than seven (7) days

The flag shall be flown at half-mast on all the buildings and places where the decedent was holding office, on the day of death until the day of interment of an incumbent member of the Supreme Court, the Cabinet, the Senate or the House of Representatives, and such other persons as may be determined by the NHI.

The flag when flown at half-mast shall be first hoisted to the peak for a moment then lowered to the half-mast position. The flag shall again be raised to the peak before it is lowered for the day.


The flag may be used to cover the caskets of certain individuals. In such cases, the flag shall be placed such that the white triangle shall be at the head and the blue portion shall cover the right side of the caskets. The flag shall not be lowered to the grave or allowed to touch the ground, but shall be folded solemnly and handed over to the heirs of the deceased. The flag may be used to cover the caskets of the following individuals:

  • 1. Honored dead of the military
  • 2. Veterans of previous wars
  • 3. National artists
  • 4. Civilians who have rendered distinguished service to the nation, as may be determined by the local government unit concerned
P&L Law

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.